Skip to content

Panzer Depot LW 1575 tourney

by on March 18, 2013

Hey guys, I participated in a tournament at panzer depot on Saturday! This was my first FoW tourney so I was not sure what to expect.We had 8 people show up, a perfect 4/4 allied/axis spread with all allies but 1 as tank lists.
I managed to take a 5-2 victory 1st round, 4-3 victor 2nd round and a 5-2 loss 3rd round. Overall it was a good day, all of my matches were very hard fought and I had good opponents for all of them. I made mistakes and paid for them. The dice were both kind and cruel to me, much to my dismay in my last game.
My first game against Paul(mechanized Irish) was a good one, My Nebels easily win mvp for pinning and killing a lot of his infantry while my Pak40s are the lamest by being killed by universal carriers.
My second game against Dan(Armoured Irish) was a tough one because it was one of my least favorite missions, breakthrough. I almost lost it when his flanking tanks came on the board but I managed to hold on and pull off a close victory. He had all tanks(only 4 stuarts, the rest shermans/fireflys) which was a challenge.
My 3rd game against Dylan(7th armoured Americans) was also very hard fought. Dylan was quick to silence my Nebels and focus fire my Paks to death. The dice were kind to my stugs who managed to survive a ton of punishment(cruel in that I bogged waaay more then I made it through terrain). The dice were harsh in my tank killing, I was mostly unable to hit(trained) and unable to role firepowers to save myself. I may have been able to pull off another point(and maybe 2nd) had I not forgotten a couple important things(smoke!) But then again he could have probably remembered a few to help himself out(in addition to his armoured recon failing to unpin for 3-4 turns). So it was a tough balance.
I think my list does well against all but a ton of tanks. Dylan had over 12 of them. If I don’t get my firepower rolls and hit rolls I can’t win because I get whittled down until I have no AT left. And those stupid jumbos that soak up all my viable hits. Tough list for me!.
I didn’t have anybody that was rude or unkind during the games which made them all enjoyable. I had a good experience overall. Here are some pictures!

image

image

image

From → Flames of War

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment